

Sullivan County Public Works Committee Meeting Minutes - Final

Chairman Joseph Perrello Vice Chairman Brian McPhillips Committee Member Amanda Ward Committee Member Luis Alvarez Committee Member Matt McPhillips Committee Member Nicholas Salomone Jr. Committee Member Terry Blosser-Bernardo

Thursday, February 1, 2024	9:00 AM	Government Center
1 naisaay, 1 coraary 1, 2021	,	Sovernment Senter

Call To Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

Cat Scott Joshua Potosek, Michelle Huck, Robert Freehill, Thomas Cawley, Dan Hust, Mark Witkowski, Ryan Brown, Julian Motola Ken Walter, Lise Kennedy, Martha Scoppa, Lou Setren, Paul Walsh

Present:	Joseph Perrello, Brian McPhillips, Amanda Ward, Luis Alvarez, Matt
	McPhillips and Nicholas Salomone Jr.
Absent:	Terry Blosser-Bernardo

Comments:

Reports:

1. Division of Public Works Monthly Report

ID-6148

Attachments: February Monthly Report

Mark Witkowski, Deputy Commissioner of Public Works (Vehicles, Roads, Landfill) gave an update on the Division of Public Works.

Ryan Brown, Deputy Commissioner of Public Works (Buildings) gave an update on the Division of Public Works.

Julian Motola, Airport Superintendent gave an update on the Airport.

Discussion:

Public Comment

- 1. Ben Younger made a public comment.
- 2. Kevin Lechner made a public comment.
- 3. Paul Walsh made a public comment.
- 4. Rebekah Creshkoff made a public comment.
- 5. Ken Walter made a public comment.

Resolutions:

1. To adopt the updated version of the Airport Policy Manual for the Sullivan <u>ID-6046</u> County International Airport (KMSV).

Attachments: <u>Airport Policy Manual - Updated Version - 2023</u>

Luis Alvarez moved to table, seconded by Brian McPhillips, all in favor. This resolution will be referred to the March 14, 2024 Public Works Agenda.

A motion was made by District 6 Legislator Luis Alvarez, seconded by Vice Chairman Brian McPhillips, that this Resolution be referred to the Public Works Committee meeting on 3/14/2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	Chairman Perrello, Vice Chairman McPhillips, District 8 Legislator
	Ward, District 6 Legislator Alvarez, District 1 Legislator McPhillips and
	District 4 Legislator Salomone
Absent:	District 9 Legislator Blosser-Bernardo

This resolution would authorize the DPW to submit a grant to the DEC for 50% Reimbursement of 2023 HHW Collection Event(s) held on 6/11/23 and 10/15/23. Approximate total Invoice amount will be \$43,000.00 (amount pending), in which the County would be seeking a reimbursement amount of up to \$21,500.00.

A motion was made by District 6 Legislator Luis Alvarez, seconded by District 1 Legislator Matt McPhillips, that this Resolution be carried at Committee to the County Legislature meeting on 2/15/2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:Chairman Perrello, Vice Chairman McPhillips, District 8 LegislatorWard, District 6 Legislator Alvarez, District 1 Legislator McPhillips and
District 4 Legislator Salomone

Absent: District 9 Legislator Blosser-Bernardo

3. Resolution to authorize the renewal of the contract with the Town of Rockland to lease town owned property to the County for the operation of the Rockland Transfer Station.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Brian McPhillips, seconded by District 4 Legislator Nicholas Salomone Jr., that this Resolution be carried at Committee to the County Legislature meeting on 2/15/2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:Chairman Perrello, Vice Chairman McPhillips, District 8 Legislator
Ward, District 6 Legislator Alvarez, District 1 Legislator McPhillips and
District 4 Legislator SalomoneAbsent:District 9 Legislator Blosser-Bernardo

ID-6142

4. Every year Sullivan County provides zero cost tonnages at the Sullivan County Division of Solid Waste to the Towns and Villages for their Spring and Fall town cleanups up to the allocated amounts. The cleanups must be held from April 15th through May 15th or from September 15th through October 15th.

Attachments: Sullivan County Municipal Cleanup 2024 Tonnage Allocation

A motion was made by District 6 Legislator Luis Alvarez, seconded by Vice Chairman Brian McPhillips, that this Resolution be carried at Committee to the County Legislature meeting on 2/15/2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:Chairman Perrello, Vice Chairman McPhillips, District 8 LegislatorWard, District 6 Legislator Alvarez, District 1 Legislator McPhillips and
District 4 Legislator SalomoneAbsent:District 9 Legislator Blosser-Bernardo

Adjourn

There being no further business, Brian McPhillips moved to adjourn, seconded by Matthew McPhillips. The Public Works Committee was adjourned at 9:36AM.